Skydiving
I take each jump one at a time, learn something and have a great time!

Docking practice

On Friday, I arrived at The Farm, after a long drive from work. I was stuck behind half of a tree that decided to fall over on the road that I was traveling on. Once I arrived at my dropzone, I got suited up and headed up for a jump with Rodrigo as my coach.

A coach is where someone with experience assists you in completing your goals. Helps identify your weakness and explain how you can improve. After graduating your AFF, you may not be a student, but you are still inexperienced and still have a proficiency card that lists out requirements you must complete in order to obtain your class A license.

Jump #12: The aircraft exit was a lot of fun, with me doing a forward roll out the door and a few seconds of tumbling. I love doing rolls and tumbling up in the sky. Rodrigo and I practiced docking. He was trying to deliberately change his fall rate, so that I had to adjust my fall rate to level with him and then move forward to dock with him. I successfully docked twice. But I still had areas for improvement. I needed to coordinate my legs better, keeping my arms still. And my 180 turn and tracking for separation was weak.

Jump #13: Rodrigo and I again exited the aircraft. But we did so using a poised exit. He was having me practice for a upcoming hop and pop that I have to complete for my A license. Well I pushed off the plane a bit and it caused me to roll. So I didn’t do a good stable exit. The rest of the jump was fun, but I didn’t get a dock. Then we ended up going through a bit of a cloud. It was time to do my 180 turn, which I improved on greatly. We all landed and just after taking my first five steps across the grass field, it began to rain hard. So we all made for a mad dash back to the hanger, getting soaked in the process.

Was a fun afternoon after a week at work. I could get use to this.

2 Responses to “Docking practice”

  1. Very nice your blog!
    Congrats !
    I had lots of fun on our jumps!
    Lets jump again!

    See ya @ The farm.
    Rodrigo

  2. Rodrigo!

    Glad you like the blog. Thank you very much for the excellent coaching and video!

    Hope to get some more time up in the sky soon!

    Mark


Leave a Reply

