Skydiving
I take each jump one at a time, learn something and have a great time!

Skyweekend #1 – Day One

This morning I awoke at 6am from my home outside Atlanta, GA. I grabbed bags and jumped in the car and raced to the airport. Arrived at the recommended two hours prior to my flight.

I had my gear in one bag, with the intentions for airport security (TSA) to ask me to open everything up. When it went through the xray machine, it kept going and the security officials didn’t say a word. I was a bit shocked, but I welcomed the hassle free process. I was suppose to remove my hook knife, but I had forgotten. Even the hook knife still attached to my rig went through with no issues.

I and two other buddies (Chris and Abhi) all met at the gate, and flew to Tampa. We arrived, grabbed the rental car and in under two hours found ourselves at Skydive City in Zephyrhills, Florida. Checked in, sign our lives away and got a safety briefing about the area, patterns, etc.

Jump #58
This was a introductory jump at Zhills, so we decided to open high to give us a better look around. We pretty much were a mess when we flew belly to earth. We circled and flew over each other, not really pulling anything off. I remember looking down every once in a while and thinking where is the damn runway. A cloud had slipped over it, barely covering it. I was able to identify another area off to the side so I felt comfortable.

We tracked away and opened at 5000 feet. I looked around it was a beautiful day. Warm and a bit hazy, partly cloudy. I was in the perfect spot. My pattern was good, and I left myself extra room not bringing it too close to the building with room for a few outs if I needed it.

Jump #59
We did another 3 way belly. This time the goal was to dock with Abhi which I did around 10,000 feet. Chris was working on coming in, and missed once or twice. He was about to call it off, when I motioned for him to give it one more try. I remember looking at my altimeter and seeing we were at 7000 feet. I knew he could make it. He did and I screamed so loud in excitement that they both heard me. We all smiled before turning to track away from each other.

We had wanted to get more jumps in. I wanted to get five, but because of delays for Chris/Abhi getting their rental rigs and a bit of a more laid back approach at Skydive City, nothing moved very quickly. It was all fine, the staff and people were nice. I am glad that I was able to go with some friends, it sucks being somewhere and not knowing a soul.  Upon checkout, they already closed the money/register so I have credit for one more jump they could not refund.  Oh well, I’m sure I’ll be back in a couple months!

Later that night we headed out to grab dinner, drink and crashed in a hotel in Tampa across from the ever popular Mons Venus strip club. It was purely coincidence of course! :-p

One Response to “Skyweekend #1 – Day One”

  1. […] Florida #2 – Day one Last time I visited Orlando was back in December. I came down for a business trip, invited a few friends and we had one hell of a good time skydiving […]


Leave a Reply

