Skydiving
I take each jump one at a time, learn something and have a great time!

Water Training

On Sunday, May 18th, I drove to Skydive The Farm in the afternoon.  Initially, I was on the fence due to the weather at my house.  But since I had to drop off a package to Chad, and check up on the status of the manifest computer, I decided to see what was going on.

After arriving, I ended up talking Andy into giving me the water training for my “B” license.  I persuaded Kyle to also jump on board and complete his water training.  It would be easier for Andy as two people were needed to maneuver the canopy in the water.

For those who don’t know…What is water training? Well, after having received your A license, you gain experience and want to jump more and more at different dropzones, near different types of hazards.  Those hazards translate at times into night jumps, over/near water, etc.  The increased risk is dealt with by the U.S.P.A. with more training.  And I honestly can’t say I disagree.  This training was as fun and valuable as obtaining my A license.

Jumping near or having to land in water should obviously be a last option, depending on the hazards you are located near of course.  I think I would take water over power lines any day of the week. 🙂

Landing in water is tricky, because you lose your depth perception.  That is why they teach you to hold half brakes on your approach and plan for a PLF.

The other job is to loosen your chest strap.  Which I quickly learned respect for after completing my final water training jump.

I performed three jumps into the lake.  Each time I had the training harness secured to my body as if I was going to jump from the plane.  The difference, the first time I was allowed to talk through what I was doing and completely remove my chest strap.  Next, I jumped into the water and it was pulled over my head while I swam down and out of my harness and out from under the parachute.

The second time, I was only allowed to loosen my chest strap.  The third jump I could not loosen my chest strap.  The last jump was going to clearly be the most difficult, but I didn’t realize how difficult until I actually did it.

The third jump with the secured chest strap taught me more than a bullet point or sentence I would have read out of the USPA manual!

It was difficult to get free.  I remember twisting and squirming to get what I called “damn harness” off of me.  So yes, the training did its job!

What would be worse than falling 15,000 feet only to land safely in water and drown? I’m sure its happened…that would suck!

Getting ready for your water training? Study before you meet with your instructor.  You can find the Skydivers Information Manual online under publications.

While this blog is not to be used as a training guide (I left out important facts you should consider for water training), I decided to point out obvious areas you should consider studying for in the 2008 SIM:

When in doubt ask your instructor! 🙂

2 Responses to “Water Training”

  1. Some interesting points there, especially about the chest strap. We don’t have to do any training of that kind for our UK B certificate, I wonder would we have to if we wanted to jump as a B licence in the US.

  2. I don’t know where it is documented about jumping internationally both for US skydivers to jump outside the US as well as the opposite. What governing body oversees this if any?


Leave a Reply

