Skydiving
I take each jump one at a time, learn something and have a great time!

A Horny Gorilla, Anyone?

Headed once again out to Skydive The Farm in Rockmart, Georgia.  This time on the back of my Harley-Davidson V-Rod motorcycle.  It was a beautiful day, hot and sunny!

Jump #124
This jump was a sit-fly 2way.  I actually have pictures of my exit thanks to DZ Chad!

Sit Fly Exit on Jump 124

Jump #125
This jump four of us did a Horny Gorilla.  For three of us, it was our first time.  A fifth video guy watched us, and we were a bit surprised we actually pulled it off.

Upon opening I had six to seven line twists! The slider was wrapped in it half way down.  I wasn’t too happy.  I kicked and kicked and found the canopy start to unwind.  But for about three to four seconds I didn’t have a full canopy overhead and was very close to chopping it (cutting away and opening the reserve).  Fortunately, just as I began kicking the canopy magically fully inflated and I was able to get out of the twist and regain control.  A bit tired and dizzy from keep looking up, then forward for traffic.

That’s one of the craziest things.  Having line twists and no control over your canopy.  Ouch!

Jump #126
This jump comprised of a hybrid.  We were going to do a four way belly round (circle) and have two free flyers hang underneath us.  The light was red, and the guys climbed out and got ready at the door.  Then I heard a “GO”, my buddy Abhi started the count.  I looked at the light it was still red.  In the middle of his count, I heard a “WAIT”.  So I let go of his chest strap and stayed inside the plain.  I may have picked up a few new names, one I overheard…”Hesitate Hurley”.

I didn’t know if WAIT could have meant that the pilot didn’t turn on the green jump light because traffic (planes) were still in the area that we could not see.  We had been seeing them fly under us all day.  But no excuses, I screwed up the jump.  I ended up quickly jumping out and flew head down, coming up to Susan to get a two way.  Then Abhi jumped in and we got a three way.  We were at 6000 feet when I saw Sunman come up and under us, and head down away from us.  We didn’t get the four way (or three way) together in time.  Damn!!!!

Here is the exit…completely fell apart…

Abhi and Susan Exit

A picture of Abhi…

And one of Susan and Sunman…

I’ll try to redeem myself next time I am out to Skydive The Farm!

No Responses to “A Horny Gorilla, Anyone?”

Leave a Reply

