Skydiving
I take each jump one at a time, learn something and have a great time!

Skydiving Incidents & Safety Lost Throwaway

Here is an article shared by the author who had lost his main deployment handle (technical term in skydivers manual can be pull out handle as well).

I’ve never had this happen, but it is a good reminder of checking your handles often before leaving the airplane.  I always try to run through the deployment and emergency deployment procedures when I have idle time on the ground (waiting to board the plane), while on the aircraft (waiting to exit), etc.  It never hurts to reach back and re-check your handle one more time one or two groups before you exit.  Nothing more satisfying than reaching behind you to check for that handle and find it still attached before you left the plane.  🙂

And to answer those who are wondering…no I would not continue and initate my jump if I was even next in line if I didn’t find that handle until just before my exit.  I’m sure there are some out there who would consider going for their reserve, but no thanks.  While I realize the “rules” you break, my reserve will always be my backup or used in very low altitude exit plane scenarios.  🙂

No Responses to “Skydiving Incidents & Safety Lost Throwaway”

Leave a Reply

