Skydiving
I take each jump one at a time, learn something and have a great time!

Wind was a bit choppy

Saturday, October 25th, I drove out to Skydive The Farm with only a few hours to spare.  Said hello to some familiar faces for a short while before it was time for gear check.

Jump #150
This jump was with Bruce, who is a very talented free flyer.  He decided to hold on to my chest strap while I exited into a sit, and go head down.  In my eyes, I flew like crap.  I kept adjusting my feet, out straight, the close up under me, trying to match Bruce’s fall rate.  My body must of looked like a yo-yo.  Bruce later commented that I should have just got into a stable sit and held it.  But for some reason, I wanted to be able to do more, to help him out so that we could fly within inches safely.  We didn’t drift apart far, and I was able to turn as I kept adjusting my fall rate to keep facing him.

The landing was smooth as I approached crossing the trees around 500 feet.  Did a turn to final around 250, and followed everyone else’s lead turning a bit more into the wind.  There was a significant cross wind.  I flared, and well the wind had other plans for me.  Instead a gust caught my canopy and pushed me down hard.  I had no if any forward speed.  I remember feeling that sharp pain in my feet and ankles.  I had my legs bent and tried to prepare for the landing but still fell forward on my knees.  Sky Dave was walking up as I was standing and asked “Does that canopy have any flare?” I laughed …. and responded “sure, when the wind isn’t pushing it down so hard”.  I walked away and had no injuries.  Damn wind.

Jump #151
Did a 4 way RW jump with Laura, Kyle and Steve.  We decided to go for a round, and turn a diamond on each person with rounds in between each diamond.  We calculated we pulled off seven points before hitting our hard deck at 4500 feet.  Was a great skydive.  The landing was soft…canopy flared nicely.

Had to hurry and pack and get back to neighborhood for the holiday bash.  Was fun, kids and mommies filed home as a smaller group of guys remained to finish off the keg.  I grew tired and we began loading the keg in the back of Mike’s SUV dropping off at another guy’s garage.

Blue skies….hope next weekend is this nice!

No Responses to “Wind was a bit choppy”

Leave a Reply

